Full Form of AICTE

AICTE: All India Council for Technical Education

  • The Department of Higher Education’s All-India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is a statutory entity and a national-level council for technical education.
  • The AICTE, which began as an advisory organisation in November 1945 and was later given statutory status by an Act of Parliament in 1987, is responsible for the appropriate planning and harmonized development of India’s technical and management education structures.
  • It is supported by ten Statutory Boards of Studies, which include:
  1. UG Studies in Eng. & Tech.,
  2. PG and Research in Eng. and Tech.,
  3. Management Studies,
  4. Vocational Education,
  5. Technical Education,
  6. Pharmaceutical Education,
  7. Architecture,
  8. Hotel Management and Catering Technology,
  9. Information Technology,
  10. Town and Country Planning.

Regional offices at

  • Kanpur,
  • Chandigarh,
  • Gurgaon,
  • Mumbai,
  • Bhopal,
  • Vadodara,
  • Kolkata,
  • Guwahati,
  • Bangalore,
  • Hyderabad,
  • Chennai and
  • Thiruvananthapuram

Objective of AICTE:

  • The AICTE has statutory authority for planning, formulation, and maintenance of norms and standards, quality assurance through school accreditation, funding in priority areas, monitoring and evaluation, maintaining parity of certification and awards, and ensuring coordinated and integrated development and management of technical education in the country, according to the All India Council for Technical Education, 1987.
  • Details:
  • Founded: November 1945
  • Sector: Technology education
  • Headquarters: New Delhi
  • Agency executive: Anil Sahasrabudhe (Chairperson) (Year: 2022)
  • Parent agency: Department of Higher Education
AffiliationsDepartment of Higher EducationMinistry of Education

Read More:

You cannot copy content of this page